Amazon’s Android App Store Opens Up Shop In Egypt, Singapore And 39 Other Countries


If you’re thinking about launching your Android app on Amazon’s App Store, your potential market just got quite a bit bigger.

This morning, Amazon is rolling out their App Store in 41 new places, bumping the grand total up to 236 countries and territories. At this point, it’s getting tough to think of a region where Amazon’s App Store isn’t up and running.

Today’s expansions are focused on Africa, the Middle East, and Southeast Asia.

One catch worth noting: just because Amazon can sell your app in a new country doesn’t mean they necessarily will. If your app goes against a region’s laws or local restrictions, Amazon won’t allow it to be published there. It seems Amazon is mostly counting on developers to declare what their apps contain — but if a government comes knocking with a takedown request for a specific app, I wouldn’t expect Amazon to put up much of a fight.

Here’s the full list of countries coming online today (if you’re looking for the full list of countries supported by Amazon, that’s right here):

  • Algeria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Burkina Faso
  • Chad
  • Djibouti
  • Egypt
  • Eritrea
  • Gambia
  • Guinea
  • Indonesia
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Lebanon
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Morocco
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Palestinian Territories
  • Qatar
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Singapore
  • Somalia
  • Tajikistan
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Uzbekistan
  • Yemen