The Daily Show’s John Oliver To Host The Crunchies

It’s often said that the Crunchies are the Oscars of tech. It’s with great anticipation that we bring you the best of innovation in technology from the past year in an environment that’s fun and elegant. In an effort to continue to raise the bar each year, we are excited to announce John Oliver as our host for the 2012 Crunchies Awards.

John Oliver has been a writer and correspondent on Comedy Central’s The Daily Show with Jon Stewart since 2006, and he’s also had his own Comedy Central series, John Oliver’s New York Stand-Up Show, since 2009. He’s also had multiple Writers Guild and Emmy Nomination for his writing on The Daily Show and won the Emmy Award for Best Comedy Writing In A Comedy or Variety Series in both 2009 and 2011.

We invite all of you to come out on Jan 31st to participate in what’s one of the most exciting nights for all of us here at TechCrunch and for the tech community. You can get your tickets below!

The 6th Annual Crunchies Awards

Thursday, January 31, 2013

Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall
201 Van Ness Ave.
San Francisco, CA

7:30pm – midnight – Awards Ceremony and After Party
A night of celebration with festive attire.

Tickets are on sale here. Be sure to act fast!

Voting is open now.
Voting closes: Thursday, January 24th at 11:59 p.m. PST

Finalists were announced yesterday.

Best Technology Achievement (2011 winner: Siri)
Baumgartner Jump (Related posts)
Google Glass (Related posts)
Mars Curiosity (Related posts)
SpaceX docks with International Space Station (Related posts)
Tesla Supercharger Network (Related posts)

Best Collaborative Consumption Service (New for 2012)
Airbnb (Related posts)
Get It Now/Postmates (Related posts)
Lyft (Related posts)
TaskRabbit (Related posts)
Uber (Related posts)

Best E-Commerce Application (New for 2012)
Fab (Related posts)
Hotel Tonight (Related posts)
Karma/Facebook Gifts (Related posts)
Warby Parker (Related posts)
Zulily (Related posts)

Best Mobile Application (2011 winner: Evernote)
Evernote (Related posts)
Google Maps (Related posts)
Grindr (Related posts)
Instagram (Related posts)
Square (Related posts)

Fastest Rising Startup (New for 2012)
Exec (Related posts)
Lyft (Related posts)
Pinterest (Related posts)
Snapchat (Related posts)
Stripe (Related posts)

Best Content Discovery Application (New for 2012)
Flipboard (Related posts)
Instapaper (Related posts)
Pinterest (Related posts)
Prismatic (Related posts)
Tumblr (Related posts)

Best Design (2011 winner: Path 2.0)
Facebook Timeline (Related posts)
Medium (Related posts)
Paper by FiftyThree (Related posts)
Square (Related posts)
Svbtle (Related posts)

Best Bootstrapped Startup (2011 winner: Imgur)
FreshBooks (Related posts)
Instapaper (Related posts)
Nimbus (Related posts)
Techmeme (Related posts)
Upverter (Related posts)

Sexiest Enterprise Startup (New for 2012)
Asana (Related posts)
Box (Related posts)
Cloudera (Related posts)
Plexxi (Related posts)
Zendesk (Related posts)

Best International Startup (2011 winner: Peixe Urbano)
Hailo (Related posts)
Rovio (Related posts)
SoundCloud (Related posts)
Spotify (Related posts)
Xiaomi (Related posts)

Best Education Startup (New for 2012)
Codecademy (Related posts)
Coursera (Related posts)
Edmodo (Related posts)
Khan Academy (Related posts)
Udacity (Related posts)

Best Hardware Startup (New for 2012)
Lit Motors (Related posts)
Lockitron (Related posts)
Makerbot (Related posts)
Nest (Related posts)
Raspberry Pi (Related posts)

Best Time Sink (2011 winner: Words With Friends)
Angry Birds Star Wars (Related posts)
Buzzfeed (Related posts)
Letterpress (Related posts)
Pinterest (Related posts)
WhatsApp (Related posts)

Biggest Social Impact (2011 winner: Twitter)
Donors Choose
Indiegogo (Related posts)
Kickstarter (Related posts)
Kiva (Related posts)
Reddit (Related posts)

Angel of the Year (2011 winner: Reid Hoffman)
Michael Arrington (Related posts)
Chris Dixon (Related posts)
Paul Graham (Related posts)
David Lee (Related posts)
Chris Sacca (Related posts)

VC of the Year (2011 winner: Marc Andreessen and Ben Horowitz)
Marc Andreessen and Ben Horowitz (Related posts/posts)
Matt Cohler (Related posts)
Jim Goetz (Related posts)
Michael Moritz (Related posts)
Peter Thiel (Related posts)

Founder of the Year (2011 winner: Jack Dorsey)
Nathan Blecharczyk, Brian Chesky, Joe Gebbia (Airbnb) (Related posts)
Kevin and Julia Hartz and Renaud Visage (Eventbrite) (Related posts)
Elon Musk (SpaceX, Tesla) (Related posts)
Kevin Systrom (Instagram) (Related posts)
Nir Zuk (Palo Alto Networks) (Related posts)

CEO of the Year (2011 winner: Jeff Weiner)
Dick Costolo (Twitter) (Related posts)
Phil Libin (Evernote) (Related posts)
Marissa Mayer (Yahoo!) (Related posts)
Larry Page (Google) (Related posts)
Mark Zuckerberg (Facebook) (Related posts)

Best New Startup of 2012 (2011 winner: Pinterest)
Coursera (Related posts)
Crowdtilt (Related posts)
Lyft (Related posts)
Snapchat (Related posts)
Waze (Related posts)

Best Overall Startup of 2012 (2011 winner: Dropbox)
Fab (Related posts)
Github (Related posts)
Instagram (Related posts)
Palantir (Related posts)
Square (Related posts)

Our sponsors help make the Crunchies happen. If you are interested in learning more about sponsorship opportunities during the ceremony or after party, please contact

For press credentials, please fill out this request form and confirmations will be sent separately via email.