DRM: Movies bought from PS3 online service can only be re-downloaded once

Next Story

Palin e-mail hacker traced to University of Tennessee dorm

ps3one

Did you know that movies purchased from the PS3′s video service can only be re-downloaded once, and that’s only with the assistance of Sony? Oh, it’s true. It’s damn true. (Get it?)

An Ars Technica reader deleted a movie from his PS3′s hard drive in order to free up some space. When he went to re-downloaded the movie, he discovered that he couldn’t. A phone call to Sony eventually fixed the problem, but with a sobering warning: users are only allowed once such re-download per account. If, for whatever reason, the user in question deleted the movie again, he wouldn’t be able to re-download it again. One and done.

The moral of the story is, be sure you keep track of your video downloads. That, and that DRM can be, and of often is, extraordinarily annoying.

blog comments powered by Disqus