Three Cheers For Bloglines

Next Story

V4S – Voicemail for Skype

I have to admit, I was hoping for the best but feared the worst as Bloglines moved over to a new data center last night. Their regular outages have enraged me in the past, although their stellar customer service almost completely made up for it (emails are returned instantaneously).

Everything seems to be working very well. Bloglines is speedy and responsive. Let’s hope it stays that way as the blogosphere continues to explode.

The last three posts to the Bloglines blog really tell the story of the stress they’ve been going through over the last few months. Reprinted below (read from the bottom up):

Bloglines Has a New Home

Bloglines has completed the relocation to our new data center. Don’t panic if some subscriptions haven’t started updating with new items yet. Our machines will be catching up with the activity of the blogosphere for the next few hours. We know a lot of you are getting the shakes so we didn’t want to keep you from your Bloglines any longer than necessary.

There is also a known issue with some subscriptions showing incorrect unread counts. However, your unread items have not been lost. Clicking on the subscription will display all the unread articles. We are working to fix this.

We’ll follow up with a more detailed post when we’re more settled in. Thanks again for your patience and support during this outage.

- The Bloglines Team
Mon, 19 Dec 2005 20:30:00 PST

Moving Data Centers

Bloglines will have a planned outage on Monday, December 19, 2005 in order to relocate to a new data center. Here’s our planned schedule for tomorrow:

* 2:00pm Pacific Daylight Time (10:00pm UTC): Your subscriptions will stop updating with new items.
* 4:00pm PDT (12:00am UTC December 20th): The Bloglines site will be completely offline. During this time you will not be able to access your account.
* 8:00pm PDT (4:00am UTC December 20th): The Bloglines site will be back online by this time. New articles posted during the outage will appear in your account.

We look forward to vastly improved hardware capacity and tons of elbow room for growth. Thank you for your patience during this outage.

- The Bloglines Team
Sun, 18 Dec 2005 15:50:00 PST

We Feel Your Pain

We’re not going to beat around the bush about this. Bloglines performance has sucked eggs lately. Why? In short, Bloglines has been busting at the seams like the Incredible Hulk.

All of us here at Bloglines have been foregoing sleep and social lives over the past several months to keep Bloglines running and preparing for our move to a new access center (with bigger britches and a very elastic waistline).

So hang tight because there’s a light at the end of the tunnel. The move will happen soon; we’ll keep you posted.

- The Bloglines Team
Wed, 15 Dec 2005 7:00:00 PST

blog comments powered by Disqus